Event Description

The Finals of the 21st LivCom Awards/ International Awards for Liveable Communities will be held in Birgu, Malta on 30 May – 2 June, 2023. This year’s Finals will be co-organized by the LivCom Committee and the International Institute on Ageing United Nations-Malta (INIA), in collaboration with the International Society of City and Regional Planners (ISOCARP) and the United Nations Center for Regional Development (UNCRD), and hosted by the Birgu Municipal Government.

As LivCom’s partner organization, INIA calls for qualified cities from across the world to actively participate in LivCom Awards 2023. Our network institutions are more than welcome to nominate cities or represent the cities you’re providing services for to participate.

As a UN-backed international competition, the LivCom Awards was launched in 1997 and is the World’s major Awards Competition focusing on International Best Practice regarding the management of the local environment and development, with further objective of improving the quality of life of individual citizens through the creation of “liveable communities”. LivCom is non-political, embracing all nations and cultures, and over 70 countries are represented within the Awards.

LivCom has been taking participation and sharing as an important goal. Numerous outstanding winning cities consider participation in LivCom as a significant platform and exchange opportunity for city development and improvement of living quality. Cities will in return learn about the best practices and solutions from other countries facing similar challenges.

This year’s Awards is centred on mobilizing local authorities to focus on the management of local environment and development with an age-friendly theme with the objective of advancing building more age-friendly liveable cities. As such, the First International Forum on Age-Friendly and Liveable Cities (AFLC) and its training session will be organized alongside a Technical Conference on Urban Transit and Sustainable Network (UTSN).

LivCom Awards are made annually in three categories covering Whole Cities, Projects and Technologies& Solutions. Entrants of the Whole City Award are required to provide a Registration Form and Written Submission (no more than 4500 words and in strict accordance with the Six Judging Criteria) to [email protected] prior to 28 February 2023. The shortlisted entrants are required to organize a delegation to take part in Finals Presentations, followed by questions asked by the Judges at the Finals organized in Malta.


The Judging Criteria mainly cover the following 6 aspects

Enhancement of the Landscapes and Public Spaces

Arts, Culture and Heritage Management

Environmental Protection and Green Economy

Community Participation and Empowerment

Healthy Lifestyle

Sustainable Planning and Management Policies


Participation in LivCom is free of charge. However, it will be necessary to cover your own travel expenses (flights& accommodation) and personal costs.


Visit LivCom website for more information 


We look forward to your participation to this well-known Awards Competition and participation in the Awards is surely an investment in the future of our community.